We’re happy to announce the names of the winners of the third edition of the Italian Sustainability Photo Award.

On Thursday 17 November, as part of the event L’economia del futuro (The economy of the future), organised by Corriere della Sera and against the stunning backdrop of the Triennale di Milano, the winners of the third edition of ISPA were unveiled. 

And it was the ladies who were the undisputed stars this time around!

Single Photo | Valeria Scrilatti | Il barbagianni

Il barbagianni (The barn owl) depicts the iconic barn owl being cared for at the LIPU Wildlife Recovery Centre in Rome. This bird of prey is an endangered/protected species, a symbol of the fragility of the ecosystem. 

Photo Story | Elisabetta Zavoli | Antichi mestieri e nuove generazioni

Antichi mestieri e nuove generazioni (Old vocations and new generations) tells the fascinating story of Tomas Parenti, the youngest fishing boat captain in the Rimini fleet, who modified his trawl net to give it two codends: an upper one for catching fish and a lower one for collecting waste from the seabed.

Grant | Tomaso Clavarino | Have you ever heard the sound of falling rocks?

Tomaso undertook a six-month journey across the Alps, where temperatures have risen by 2°C in recent years, to analyse and document a phenomenon of great importance (and which is almost impossible to photograph), but which isn’t often talked about: the degradation of the permafrost.

In addition, the role of Lowepro Ambassador was awarded to the photographer Paola Lai, for her work entitled Mar Mediterraneo: L’odissea delle tartarughe marine (The Mediterranean Sea: A sea turtle odyssey), a project that followed marine biologists working in Sardinia at CReS - Centro di Recupero del Sinis (Sinis Recovery Centre). 

Furthermore, Nikon awarded the special award Nikon - Capture Tomorrow to Elisabetta Zavoli's photo story, Crime School: a project that focussed on social rehabilitation in prisons, which the jury felt perfectly encapsulated the “capture tomorrow” concept.

This edition’s projects were selected by an international jury composed of Alessia Glaviano (Head of Global PhotoVogue and director of the PhotoVogue Festival), Antonio Carloni (founder of Cortona on the Move and deputy director at the Gallerie d'Italia in Turin), Lucy Conticello (director of photography for M, the magazine supplement of Le Monde) and Mads Nissen (World Press Photo winner and staff photographer at Politiken, a leading Danish daily newspaper), and  chaired by the journalist Tiziana Ferrario.